Young people are often influenced by their peers. Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some teenagers are outgoing then the others. Regardless, this phenomenon also means that their are a lot more easily affected by their friends. Do the negative impacts that peer pressure brings is greater then its positive impacts? This essay will give my opinon and offer my reasons and supporting examples.

First of all, peer pressure can cause mental health issues and takes away adolescents’ identities. It is because peers to some teens are very vital, some of them might think if they don’t follow their peers’ actions that means they are not respecting their friends. Thus, it will cause a huge mental pressure on teenagers. For example, sometimes even though the person might not want to do that, but due to the peer pressure he or she have to engage in certain action, otherwise they might lose their friends. Meanwhile, peer pressure also let teens lost their identities. That is because the more teenagers follow their peers the more self identities that they might lost. For instance, I have a friend who really very likes Japanese cartoons but when their friends discover this habit, they say it’s only bored people will watch these. Since that I never see him to share any Japanese cartoon to me. Hence, peer pressure can really change a person even his or her identity and it is possible to causes mental health problems.

On the other hand, peer pressure can help youth to build up positive habits, if they have a good social circle. In other words, if their friends like to learn, then this learning atmosphere will affect other people who within this circle, thus it will bring positive competitive relationships between teenagers. Moreover, peer pressure also can be used to encourage teens to overcome their hardships. For instance, I used to fail the math exam many times, but when I saw my friends they all passing it and some of them obtained a good result, I started to put more time in math, as a result, I got the highest mark in my class. Therefore, peer pressure can help teens to face some difficulties.

As I have discussed, peer pressure just like a double egded sword, if people can use it properly it can become a stimulus of success. However, I think that the negative results of peer pressure is more huge.