Young people should spend more time on cultural activities such as music and theatre and less time on sport. How far do you agree with this statement?

Some people believe that youngsters should dedicate most of their time to cultural activities rather than sports. I myself totally disagree with this thought and my reasons for this are as follows.

First of all, balance is the key to success. I think everybody should learn how to maintain balance in their everyday lives. Therefore, it is vitally important to teach our young people about the importance of including different types of activities in their routines. I believe only with providing balance we would be able to achieve our goals. Other than that, we can not expect or force a football player for instance, to stop practicing on the field in order to join a museum. In this way, we are actually traumatizing a good talent and a bright future.

Second of all, sports play an important role on our health situation. Without working out, our body would lose muscles and since most of the jobs are taking place behind a desk these days, soon we are going to gain weight. As a result of obesity, we would gradually get into the troubles of heart diseases and eventually heart failure, not to mention other destructive impacts. On the other hand, With working out on a regular basis the body’s function will increase as well as the risk of depression will decrease. When we exercise, we are releasing all of our tensions and afterwards, our mind will be able to process in a more free manner and there comes the creativity in my belief.

By way of conclusion, not to underestimate the importance of culture of art education, but I personally believe that sports are an inseparable part of a person’s life and I think the best way to teach that to a society, is to constantly teach children about the benefits of working out and providing some encouraging and exhilarating sport events in schools.