01/10/2017

Nowadays many parents believe that children’s usage of tablets or computers would be good for their future academic career. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such belief?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Many claim offspring’s usage of computer technologies may be beneficial for their academic career in the future. Below drawbacks and merits of this belief will be discussed in details.

On the one hand, there are some disadvantages. Firstly, parents who assume their progeny will benefit from using computers in the college could allow them to spend too much time in front of a screen. Staring for hours at a monitor will likely have an adverse impact on their sight; moreover, inactive lifestyle will undermine kids' over-all health. Secondly, parents who think spending time on the internet would bring the young people advantages while pursuing a degree could not pay needed attention to the academic performance of the kinds. Consequently, a child who has not developed yet a will and the ability to control whims will probably neglect to study; and thus, his average will inevitably decline. Those are major drawbacks of the discussed issue.

On the other hand, the belief could bring some fruits. Primarily, the world of tomorrow is going to be highly computerized and many if not all activities from entertainment to fulfilment of work duties will be routinely done with usage of computers. Those who get used to the technology since early childhood would have an indispensable advantage over those who did not play with the machines during the formative years. Furthermore, spending time on playing computer games and hanging out in social media has become a new norm. Thus, socializing, making novel friends and developing communicative skills requires from a kid to devote a great deal of his life to looking at a laptop or tablet screen. Adhering to the belief by mothers and fathers will let the youngsters have a normal, modern life. So, above some plausible merits of the trend were mentioned.

In conclusion, the idea kids will benefit in the future from knowing computers has some positive and negative facets that are logical consequences of one another.