Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some people believe that advertisement threatens diversity as it encourages individuals to desire similar products. Although there are some merits to advertisement such as raising awareness and accelerate the flow of information about new advancements, its detrimental effects on the identity of the society is far more significant to be ignored.

On the one hand, corporations present their new achievements to the world so that people can choose more efficiently while considering all their options. For example, without announcing a brand new cell-phone with ability of fingerprint detection, only a small number of people would be aware of this innovation. It not only impacts the manufacturer's profit immensely but also deprives tech enthusiasts from getting their dream gadget. In addition, advertisement can contribute to building a well-informed community through introducing products that can have a great influence on people's health. Take condoms for an instance, showing them openly in the television and talking about the safe sex has been proved to help adolescents to be more careful.

On the other hand, people get bombarded by various kind of advertisements, which target different needs of human beings from foods to communication devices. Media tries to use celebrities' fame as a means to convince commoners that if they want to be loved and respected as their idols, they should purchase the same products as their role models. This trick most of all affects youngsters who are in dire need of attention. Therefore, when something becomes a trend, every teenagers tries its hardest to obtain the same hairstyle, pair of jeans or cell-phone. As a result, wherever you look, you see people who are similar to each other without having anything that represents their own individuality or taste. Furthermore, those individual who try to preserve their authenticity are often get laughed at by their peers and perceived to be outsiders.

In conclusion, although advertisements open new windows of opportunities, their impact on people's personality should not be overlooked.