After finishing school some students go traveling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think advantages of gap year outweigh the disadvantages?

These days it is commonly preferred by youngsters to take a break before enrolling them in tertiary education. This practice might be helpful to unwind the stress level, but on a large scale I believe it has more drawbacks on studies of children. This essay will discuss the reasons in detail in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, the main element of taking a gap after secondary education is that youngsters will find more comfort in travelling and working. In other words, it gives them a feeling of relaxation and they try to adapt this as their lifestyle. Owing to this, they always stop their further education, which is actually important for their long and stable career. To illustrate, according to some research, it has been shown that those students who get involved with any kind of short term jobs during or after their schools are less likely to continue their higher studies.

Another reason would be, a long break from regular touch of coursebooks. This means that there are some subjects such as maths and computer science which require continued practice, and taking a gap after school will more likely to forget the basic concepts.

Nevertheless, it is also true that after travelling or working for sometime, a student will feel more fresh and alive, as a result, their concentration level gradually increases and performance in higher studies would improve. Although it is only favourable for some students, not with the majority.

In conclusion, according to my perspective there are more negatives of taking a year gap, as it might lose the interest of students to continue their studies. So firstly education completion is essential, and rest of the other others are secondary and are done after studies.