Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. To what extent do you agree?

Culture and traditions are the backbones of every nation and its denizens. Some masses hold the opinion that tourists should abide by their native beliefs and culture when travelling to various cultures. There are few points due to which I deny this notion, whereas with the large concern I am convinced with it.

Primarily, by adopting one's cultural values and practices travellers might come across with fewer predicaments that usually individuals face when they are new to it. Explaining in detail, if a person is aware of the local beliefs of people they will not do those things which can hurt the beliefs of residents and in return save himself from difficult situations. According to the survey of the tourist department of the US, in 2015, tourists who followed local customs faced fewer problems than those who did not.

Secondarily, by adapting different cultural values people get a chance to improve their tolerance towards other cultures which is very important these days to live in a peaceful environment. Also, this thing dwindle the chances of conflicts between various ethnicities due to respective local beliefs

On the sinister side, it is quite arduous to follow the rules and customs of every country wherever one goes. Adding to this, mostly travel of people in other cultures are not for longer durations and it is not easy to follow others' beliefs in this period. People commute to other cultures to enjoy their time to stay instead of wasting in learning and adjusting in them.

To reiterate, undoubtedly, adapting in local cultural practices of other cultures while travelling brings multifarious benefits to the travellers but logically it is impossible to adjust in everyone instead respect towards everyone can be the other option.