Some people think that when a person travels into a different culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs.

To what extent do you agree?

It is generally believed by masses that foreign culture ought to be adapted by those people who travel abroad. On the whole, I agree with this notion since it removes cultural barriers and increases adaptability among individuals of different nations; however, I also accept that some people devalue their own traditional cultures.

To begin with, cultural adaptations strengthen the bond between a native person and a traveler. This is because if a foreigner participates in the local rituals and ceremonies, then he would be happily accepted by the society. Although in the beginning exploring a foreign country might be challenging for some, the respect towards their customs act as saviour for them. Moreover, people also get an advantage of having communications with the locals in order to learn more about their culture. Once they become actively involved with the natives their chances of societal isolation reduces to zero.

Furthermore, a person traveling to different nation's broadens their knowledge by interacting with locals, and it has also been seen that some of them prefer to settle in the country which suits them. For example, Canada and Australia are the top most selected destinations around the world, owing to the holistic environment provided by the country to the foreigners. On the other hand, there are some individuals who put down their own ancient cultures so as to adapt the foreign customs; instead, they should introduce their rituals to them, which alleviate culture barriers amongst nations.

In conclusion, undoubtedly, it is true to say that adapting host countries' practices will not only improve cultural tolerance but also develop respect for each another's nation. Those who feel their customs are too backward to celebrate or to introduce in the society should understand that the uniqueness of the cultures make them different from each other's culture around the world.