All over the world, the rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. What problems does this cause?How can we overcome the problems of poverty?

Poverty continues to be a grave concern throughout the world. In fact, the economic gap has been widening among different section of society for past fewyears. This essay agrees that this trend gives rise to the anti-social activities and hinders the development of the nation, and can be tackled by the governingauthorities by making stringent laws to deal with offensive activities and should provide financial assistance to the underprivileged section.

Primarily, extreme poverty conditions give birth to the criminal actions. In other words, poverty-stricken section of the society have to burn mid night oil to fulfill their rudimentary needs; however, due to burgeoning prices of necessities, it has become a Herculean task for them even to earn the food for the family. Consequently, they prefer to get money by illegal methods, such as robberies, theft, just names a few. A recent survey has disclosed that about 45% of thieves are penniless individuals, whoperfrom these type of offensive to lead a better life, which they can not get, even if they work around the clock. Apart from this, this practice is the biggest obstacle in the way of progress of the country. That is to say, unprivileged masses are unable to access proper education, medical treatment and other facilities owing to lack of funds. Thus, having a greater number of illiterateand unhealthy population would cast an adverse effect of the prosperity of that country.

In regard to the solution, onus rests on the shoulder of governing authorities, as there is pressing need of enforcing laws to eradicate the crime from the society.This is because that community would think twice before committing illegal activities due to the fear of harsh punishment. Moreover, the government should providemonetary assistance to the needy crowd, so that they can take a proper diet. Furthermore, state-of-the-art facilities should also be provided to them without applying and charge. In India, for example, administrative bodies have been allocating funds for the development of impoverished regions of the nation for last three years, and a 15% rise in the progress of people has been noticed since then.

On balance, owing to the unequal distribution of wealth, the gap among poor and rich population is escalating day by day, which gives rise to some ramifications; therefore, it is very crucialto bridge the gap between economic conditions of affluent and to ensure consistent growth of the country. The governing authorities are responsible to make prudent decisions to mitigate this serious problem.