All the people in a company should be treated equally and provided with the same number of vacations in a year.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Corporate world is full of different types of employment options with different designations, these job profiles require various leave or vacation policies. I partially agree with the said notion as several sectors should not provide the same number of vacations to each employee and therefore should not treat each employee equally. However, in other sectors where discrimination can be seen clearly, needs parallel vacation policies with little to no difference.

Running a business in this cut-throat competition is not a small issue. Additionally, retaining employee is another problem which mostly caused by differences in the leave policies. For example, sectors like agriculture and food industry requires different vacation for categorised employees. In my country, most farmers allowed to take a vacation in summer, but the supervisors of the fields can take a yearly vacation at a different time in monsoon. Supervisors may not get the same number of vacation days as compared to farmers. In this case, it is justifiable that employers can not treat each employee equally particularly in the mater of their leaves.

On the opposite side, engineering sectors are following same leave policies throughout a year, no matter who the employee is and which position he or she is set on. If there is some difference in leave policies, it is very negligible and is not questionable by the group of employees. For example, Information Technology companies do have the one vacation policy for all their engineers and therefore employees are treated equally, regardless of their designations and duties. This is the sector where a minor tweak in the leave policy for certain employees might be considered as a discriminatory decision, because of the nature of the industry.

To deduce, I believe in the idea that leaves terms can be differ from the industry to industry and there should not be any complain regarding not treating employee equally. However, some corporate sectors and their employees are believing in the equality but it totally depends on the nature of the business.