Online education and training is becoming increasingly popular in the business world.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, each business is looking for an affordable way to educate and train their employees. Online education has brought comprehensive methods to re-skill the company’s staff in order to serve greater needs of increasing business demands. Digital education is not only cost effective but also powerful way to equip oneself with cutting edge knowledge, no matter the time and place are. However, digital education has some dark sides.

Online education has drastically cut down the cost of companies’ skill development programmes. In other words, one subscription of any subscribed courses can be beneficial to number of employees, thus it is considered as the cheapest option ever available. For instance, Wipro India’s largest IT company has tied-up with the Udemy education portal. Wipro’s employee uses this single subscription number of times with the same login credentials to upgrade their knowledge. In this way, as per the Wipro, they successfully reduced 98% cost of the skill development department.

Another benefit of this type of education is, these portal serves the latest knowledge and sometimes on-demand sessions also so employees get a proper functional update about patches and amendments in any field. For example, Wipro is using the Udemy portal because the Udemy acknowledge Wipro’s employees wherever new methods or technologies would be made available on the portal. This eventually helps the company to resolve some bottleneck problems.

On the flip side, one major drawback of online education is, it lacks pro-activeness. If businesses are opting for these types of skill development program, they should consider that this type of material is one directional only. Users cannot ask a question at a time; however, he or she can submit their queries afterward.

To deduce, it is clear that the pros of online education outweigh the cons of the system. It is at most necessary for all of the businesses to reduce their operations cost as much as they can and also make their employees skillful enough to fight with cut-throat competition.