The best way for the government to solve the problem of traffic congestion in cities is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people opine that to alleviate the traffic congestion government should provide free public transportation round the clock. However, I have a different side to this problem. I believe that free public transit can solve traffic problem to some extent, but it is not the best viable solution, as it would lead to many other issues.

Undoubtedly, many daily commuters would be benefitted with free transportation. But such services would make the government to financial strain and is an unnecessary burden. Moreover, a considerable proportion of these services would be wasted, as these would be unused during an off-peak time, nights and weekends. Therefore, it is not practical to provide public transportation utterly free on economic grounds.

There are numerous ways to facilitate the use of public transportation and hence reduce traffic problems. Mainly, commuters are looking into comfort, frequency and rate. If the people do not have to wait time waiting for the bus or train, get comfortable seats and have to pay far less than what they would have to spend on their vehicle, then they would willingly take public transportation. So taking these steps are worth than making public transit completely free.

Additionally, the government should levy toll taxes and increase road tax as well. A Surge in fuel price also discourages the people from using personal vehicles. Media could be used to aware the people about simple measures like car-pooling. For instance, if people from a community is going in the same direction for the job then can alternatively take their car and share to commute. It is a win-win situation for the environment and people.

To sum up, having transportation completely free would not be practical to implement, as it would not be viable for the government. Therefore, it would not be the best solution. The better method would be to encourage people to use public transport by making it better.