Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, it is becoming a trend that people like to shop online from different website available on Internet, such as, Amazon, which is one of the famous e-commerce site in the U.S. and many other countries. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will first outline some advantages and explain why there are more advantages of online shopping and buying things on the Internet and then present a disadvantage as why Internet is encouraging people to buy more by showing attractive pictures and using good marketing techniques and strategies.

Some people think that buying things online such as flight tickets or train tickets, academic books or novels and even grocery would help them to save time. It has been seen that people now live in nuclear families; hence, they do not get time to go for grocery shopping as both of the partners, particularly husband and wife, work at different locations. So, getting grocery to cook on time is a big relief for them. For example, the number of working women is being increased. We have seen in past that women used to go for grocery shopping as she used to be one who used to cook. But, as the number is rising, women tend to look for online options to get grocery at home by saving time and energy.

Other than that, online shopping gives many options to buy items, such as, books. Buying a book online has made life easier as one can find even a used book at a lesser price. Due to cash on delivery option, one does not even has to go to anyone's doorstep or to a shop to buy a book. For example, while I was in the U.S. on my exchange program, I was totally new in the city and did not know much about the city. Someone told me about Craiglist.com and asked me to buy used books from there. I put an ad and within 2 days, Mr. John contacted me and gave an option to deliver the book free of cost. It was a perfect option for me as I had to pay half a price. On the other hand, it is not necessary that people show the true picture of their products or services they are offering online. But, in most of the cases, the e-commerce takes this matter seriously and carefully verifies these sellers. For instance, on AliBaba.com, each and every seller has to be verified and give true and honest pictures their products. Moreover, after each sale, usually buyers give reviews to sellers and the product they buy. Also, there are tons of platform on Social Media where one can write about any problem they face while buying online.

To conclude, online shopping is a great innovation for people who work full-time. It saves time and cost at the same time. Even getting things on your doorstep make life easier. While, the drawback of not meeting the buyer and not seeing the original products mat create some problem. Hence, most of the times, online shopping is a smooth experience.