Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people propose today that youth are not as brilliant as they used to be in the past, and this drop in their intellectual abilities is largely being linked to excessive time they spend on watching TV. In fact, children are being expected to give up watching TV in favour of reading books, which they believe shall help reverse the decline in their intellect.I however, neither believe that children have grown less brilliant today, nor that TV makes them duller.

I personally feel that considering TV merely a source of entertainment would be an extremely short-sighted vision, as its benefits are not confined to this aspect only. To elaborate, children nowadays are smart and ,also, they are the generation of tech savvies. They, hence, may not like the learning in a conventional way; they rather prefer interactive and visualised lessons presented on-screen. Owing to that, educational content available on TV helps them learn more practically and innovatively.

Furthermore, as far as the matter of modern day children being less educated is concerned, there are several examples to prove the contrary. For example, videos casting children, solving extremely complex mathematical theories and doing unbelievable calculations in the matter of few seconds only are a commonplace on internet. Their intelligence expands beyond subjective knowledge even as they are also aware of their surroundings as well as major global issues. Irrefutably, informative medias like TV are to thank, mainly, for imparting such consciousness in them.

To recapitulate, Television should be viewed as a source of knowledge for children as it encourages practical learning in an interesting manner and also empowers youth with knowledge. Also, books reading along with interactive learning can help children become more creative. However, the proportion of time allocated to watching TV must be supervised strictly by parents to minimise its detrimental side.