The computer is widely used in education and some people think teachers do not play an important role in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Invented less than a hundred years ago, computers are an indispensable part of the human life today and are used everywhere, even inside the classrooms. With the increasing popularity of the computers in the education, many people ponder if they will eventually replace the teachers in the classroom. In my opinion, this is very unlikely as teachers play a pivotal role in our lives and cannot be replaced.

Firstly, computers are man-made machines which can store a huge amount of knowledge. Despite this, they are not programmed to think creatively and cannot manage students from different cultural backgrounds. Teaching in a classroom requires individual attention and creativity as children have different caliber and pace at which they learn and absorb things. For instance, a child suffering from dyslexia will require special attention and care while studying and only a teacher can provide this.

Secondly, students can relate to and understand the situation better when a personal touch or examples are involved. Teachers fulfill this requirement by supporting the theoretical studies with the relevant examples about a scenario. In addition, teachers organize different class-room activities such as group discussions and debates to keep students engaged and make learning a fun and frolic experience. Moreover, a teacher can notice even a slight change in a student’s attitude and behaviour and rectify it with proper guidance. Without this kind of interaction and understanding, learning and teaching will be ineffective.

In conclusion, even though computers are a part of our daily routines teachers play an important role in shaping the lives of an individual by enlightening their paths and making them a better citizen and thus, the role played by teachers in education can’t be overlooked.