Consumer goods have become the most important part of people's life. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of technology, much advancements related to consumable items happened, which made everyone's life easy. This essay will explain why these advancements have more benefits than drawbacks.

First and foremost, human power, time and efforts could be saved by giving simple instructions to machines with few clicks. Furthermore, many technological gadgets like mobile and electrical appliances such as washing machine, vacuum cleaner, have become a vital part of daily life to help human beings in their day-to-day household activities such as cleaning and cooking. For instance, LG company launched an automated washing machine in 2016, which was a breakthrough for all housewives in India because it hardly needs any human help to wash as well as dry clothes. Secondly, people can utilise their spare time prudently to improve health conditions by involving themselves in various sport activities. Moreover, they can download numerous applications from play store to enhance their cognitive skills because more than 70 per cent of the population uses android mobile phones nowadays.

However, this trend has some drawbacks as well because people are losing humane connection due to their increasing interest in consumable things. In addition, they are becoming more workaholic and isolated, to fulfill their demands of different materialistic things, by earning more money in the short time span. For example, a survey conducted by the 'Youth' magazine in 2018 demonstrated that young generation spends more than 60 per cent of day time in isolation, either doing work or busy with well-featured mobiles, which would beget lots of troubles especially diseases such as depression.

In conclusion, although consumer goods have some disadvantages, they offer many benefits when used wisely. They can support human life on a daily basis in every aspect.