In some countries, people prefer to rent a house for accommodation, while in other countries people prefer to buy their own house. Does renting a house have more advantages or disadvantages than buying a house?

Rented as well as independent houses have their own pros and cons. This essay will discuss the two reasons, why renting a house is a better choice for an individual as it provides with numerous facilities and care-free maintenance, in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, since the inception of modern architecture, builders are building houses with several amenities. Furthermore, these multistorey buildings have shopping complexes, mini pharmacy, swimming pool, sports court and creshe for working women's babies, so these houses offer something special to people from all age groups to attract them which is the major motive of the owners. Secondly, owners usually appoint specific duties to specific people in these types of accommodation such as maintenance in charge to take care of the maintenance of the building. Tenants can lead a smooth life without any worry, and in case of any issue, they can call person in charge with few clicks on the phone. For instance, according to a survey conducted in 2018 in Bangalore by the Housing association, showed that 70 per cent of youth opted for rented homes rather than buying an own house in past three years.

However, people residing in rented houses can face space constraints. In order to provide many facilities in building which need huge space, architects compromise the design of flats by designing either small kitchens or small living rooms. For example, a report published in the Hindustan Times in 2019 revealed that nowadays only one-eighth of the total area is designated for kitchen in modern homes which is exactly half when compared to past designs.

In conclusion, although rented homes have some demerits such as small kitchens, they render immense benefits to the residents by offering facilities to all family members.