Art and music are considered some of the fundamental elements of all societies. Do you think art and music still have a place in today's modern world of technology? Should children spend more time learning art and music at school?

Creativity and entertainment are two crucial aspects of human life. Although they play a vital role in people's life irrespective of their age, children should not be forced to learn art and music in early childhood.

With the advent of technology, the modes of entertainment have changed in the past few years, but not the music. Furthermore, people always listen to the songs from a different genre while travelling, commuting to the workplace or doing daily household activities because musical themes, vibes and backgrounds boost up the mood and energy of an individual. For instance, a report published in the Hindustan Times in 2018, demonstrated that the musical applications such as Gaana, Wink and Sawan have extreme popularity among the young generation, if compared to other modern applications available in Google play store.

However, elders should not make it mandatory for children to acquire knowledge of music at school. Music is only one way of enjoyment, if any child has immense interest in learning it, he/she should not be stopped, but teachers should not burden every student with extra responsibilities of subjects as listening to the music does not require any particular skillset. Moreover, children can be taught music even in the adult age or later years of life as learning does not have any boundaries. For example, a famous Indian classical singer Sameer, started learning music at the age of 25, which did not have any negative impact on his career, instead, he is leading a happy and prosperous life.

In conclusion, in spite of many technological advancements, music has some benefits for the human mind so it cannot be ignored. But nobody should be burdened to gain skills of music in childhood as anyone can enjoy it even without knowing the fundamental aspects of the music.