In many countries schools are open before and after normal hours so children of working parents can stay longer at school. Do you think there are more advantages or disadvantages to this approach?

In this era of modernization, schools take care of students not only in normal hours but also in extra hours. This essay agrees that this trend is a positive development and is beneficial for the working parents; reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, schools are safe and trustworthy place for children. Parents can leave their children for longer periods under the supervision of expert staff-members who can deal with children in humble and polite manner. Secondly, children would be more comfortable in the familiar surroundings. Moreover, they can enjoy the company of friends and teachers because teachers are well aware of children's preferences and habits. For example, 70 per cent of working parents prefer schools, which provide odd hours creshe services, due to safety assurance of their children, says a report published in 2018 in the Hindustan Times.

However, this extra assistance provided by schools could hamper child's growth. Some children need exposure to different environments for skill-development such as swimming lessons, painting or sports classes, all of which cannot be offered by schools for all children. Instead, monotonous routine can make some children irritating and stubborn. For instance, a survey conducted by the School Union of Bangalore in 2019, revealed that 40 per cent of children below age of 6 years do not want to stay at school after completion of the classes.

In conclusion, although children's stay at schools for extended hours can help parents because of safe and comfortable accommodation, it could affect some children's growth negatively as they may need some extracurricular activities after school timings.