Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Tax-system is a vital aspect of country's development and economy. Some people contend that families whose children go to the private schools, should be escaped from paying tax to the government. But this essay disagrees with the aforementioned thought and will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, only affluent families send their children to private schools who can afford the high fees of private schools. It would not be a prudent decision to give privilege to this group of people because they are the major contributors to money collected by tax which can be utilized by government for society-welfare programmes. Moreover, it is their choice to select private schools over government schools as nobody forced them. For instance, according to a report published in the Hindustan Times in 2018, 70 per cent of population belonging to high-class want their children to study in a reputed private school.

Secondly, tax-system which was constructed with unbiased norms, will break faith of many people, if some people will be exempted from existing rules. It is a fair system that everyone has to pay tax according to their salary because spending money is in their control, if someone wants to save money, that person can opt out from private schools. For example, a survey results showed that 60 per cent of people in India will protest against government, if tax payment rules will be modified for specific group.

In conclusion, parents of private school going children should not be provided with any exemption in tax. They have made their choices, if paying money is a concern for them, they can choose the government schools.