Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Humans are utilising natural resources at a rate that, it would be difficult for them to exist after certain years in absence of these resources such as water, coal, if recycling is not considered at present. This essay agrees that government ought to make laws so that people would give preference to recycling, reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, due to lack of sense of individual responsibility, people do not care about proper waste recycling methods. Furthermore, government can bring laws and strict guidelines in notice of these people so that they abide by these regulations, and take initiatives to reduce the waste from their homes such as reutilise the water flowing from the kitchen after utensils washing, for watering the plants. For instance, government has put automated meters in Norway in 2017 to check the water supply and its reutilization which resulted in sharp decline of water-wastage by 30 per cent in a year.

Secondly, fear of paying fine to authorities can motivate reluctant people to work on novel recycling procedures. These people would reuse the waste things at home such as plastic bottles to grow plants, broken glasses for decoration, to maintain their reputation in society without any legal charges. For example, fine collection of only Rs. 2/- per plastic bottle from any home by sweepers has curbed the plastic-waste by two-fold in Madhya Pradesh in 2018 which was an achievement for local government bodies.

In conclusion, although recycling of waste is crucial, people do not consider it as a noble deed. So government must pose some laws, rules and regulations to inspire citizens to minimise the waste from their home by recycling.