Consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s life.

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the world today, it is not an uncommon fact that consumerism and technology have become a part of life due to the positive attributes associated with them. Even though this change has some negative implications, the society is definitely benefited by several products available currently.

Firstly, the significant drawback that has to be considered is the environmental degradation caused by these goods. Plastic is one such product which is coupled with almost all goods used by humans. Illegal disposal of plastic is a threat to soil and marine life. Similarly, explosive usage of motor vehicles has contributed to the air pollution through increase of carbon footprint by combustion of fuels. All these anthropogenic activities are result of consumables and are hazardous to the ecosystem. Secondly, consumerism can possibly be argued to be responsible for materialistic behaviour among the people, slowly neglecting the importance of social connections and relationships. Few spend on extravagances in order to exhibit social status and power. This is a negative trend.

However, the products available in the market these days are enhancing the living standards and directing the world progress. These products amplified with technology have proved that various things which were once considered impossible no more remain as impossible. Can we imagine a world with aeroplane or computer or four-wheeler now ? The world would be handicapped without these. As one said "Necessity is the mother of all invention", we have hundred of thousands of products as a result of demanding needs. So, it is the personal choice of utilising the goods based on requirement and not valuing them excessively over other aspects of life.

In conclusion, consumerism has numerous advantages in the present generation and surely exceed the disadvantages but the wise decisions to prioritize among all the facets of life are what really matter.