Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Few employees ask job seekers about their hobbies personal interests and their marital status during the interviews. While some feel that these questions may be appropriate and useful, others have an opposed view. This essay discusses both views and states my opinion. Some professions require personal information about the candidate before they recruit but some professions do not need the information about their personal life.

Employers while hiring a candidate look out for the personal information and interests of the persons because that helps them to evaluate the candidate. This data benefits them to decide to have the position filled by an appropriate person. For instance, Indian Oil Company whose main operations involve drilling of oil from the sea and requires their employees to spend 6 months in the sea. Hence, the employers gather personal information before they offer a job in order to decide if the employee is willing to stay away from home for long periods in water.

Whereas some professions look at the skill and experience rather than the personal interests of the candidate. Recruiter who wants to hire a computer professional does not need to know the habits and interests as it is irrelevant to the job. I am a software engineer and I was not questioned about my personal life in the interview. The interview mainly focused on my skills.

In conclusion, there are some jobs which need to have personal information about their employees including hobbies and marital status whereas most of the job do not require personal information and seems the information to be irrelevant to the profession. Having personal information of the employees is a good practice unless and until the confidentiality of the information is protected by the employers.