Countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree?

Over the recent years, the ways in which criminal activities could be performed are increased exponentially. Due to this, most of the nations are facing troubles in regards to the raise in crime rate. Several people anticipate that the only way to overcome crime issues is to have huge police force on the streets around the societies. What are the positives of having officers on the roads? What could be the alternatives to reduce the crime? A thorough scrutiny of the above will lead to an insightful response.

While it is convenient to adopt one aspect over the other, I prefer to present a balanced ergo objective assessment. In my opinion, police officers all around in increased number will surely be useful. However, there are few other options which could be beneficial for the society. The subsequent two paragraphs will detail both aspects extensively.

First and foremost, criminals will be frightened by the strict police security and law around them. Due to harsh punishments, criminals will think of consequences before committing any crime as chances of getting caught is higher. For instance, an article published in NewYork times says that the crime rate in cities has dropped drastically due to fear, where number of officers on duty are more.

On the contrary, use of cutting-edge technology and extremely strict laws are some alternatives which will help to reduce crime. Facial recognition and fingerprint scanner could be useful to catch the criminals easily and fast. Strict surveillance cameras all around the areas for security will eventually deter the criminal acts. Increased in employment opportunities will help improve people their life goals and motivate them to become good citizen. For instance, Cambridge University published a letter about the decreased criminal rate of Mumbai due to improved tourism and employment options.

Keeping all of the above-mentioned facts in mind, increasing terror about strict punishments by police officers is evident component of our reality. In contrast, use of technology and jobs availability are well worthy of an equivalent consideration. To conclude, as is with most things in life, there are two sides to the matter. Fortunately, in this case, both of these are constructive.