Countries around the world will be facing significant challenges relating not only to the environment, but population and education as well.

What problems will your country face in the next ten years?

How can these problems be overcome?

Climate change, this word is no foreign to the world now. Countries around the world are experiencing impacts of global warming. There are other global issues in play, such as overpopulation, social, governance, poverty and list goes on. Many countries especially some developing ones are dealing with issues and if there are no immediate action taken to adverse the effects, it can result in global crisis sooner than expected.

For example, India has seen rapid increase in development in just a last decade. But this growth does not come cheap, It certainly has taken its toll on the country. Firstly, with ever increasing population of country, demand for better infrastructure is also increasing. While in metro cities certain projects like metro and BRTS bus system are implemented, lack of better city roads and public parking has contributed to traffic. Furthermore, increase in traffic means increase in pollution. Metro cities has seen influx in number of vehicles on the road like ever before and lack of government regulations on vehicle standards has contributed to more carbon emission and pollution. Lastly, in less developed villages, even today access to clean water is electricity is considered a rare find.

So can we do anything to reverse the damage already done? Not completely, but we can take first step toward change by changing ourselves. If we take pledge to cut down single use plastic, use fresh water wisely, adapt electric vehicles, small changes in individual lifestyle can make big difference. Secondly, Government should also consider applying stricter regulations regarding vehicle emissions and traffic rules. Rural areas can be uplifted if provided with clean energy sources and rain water harvesting for farming.

UN have taken big step by setting 17 sustainable development goals which are interconnected and serves common purpose of leave no one behind. All countries around the world has target to achieve these goals by 2030. There are various goals such as investment in green energy, education for all, access to clean water, reduce inequality etc. are especially important for developing nations and certainly a step in the right direction.

In conclusion, we certainly do have global crisis at our hand and not just environmental, but also social and governance issues need equal attention to achieve overall success. With new global policies set by UN combined with individual and government commitment, Let us all work towards a common goal - We will leave this planet better than we found it.