Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Oil in other words "Liquid Gold" have been one of the increasingly availed resources of the century. Demand for oil and gas is tremendously overtaking other resources of the world due to the increased usage of automobiles and LPG. A major technological shift has been observed at the cusp of the 20th century. In fact Oil is one of the remarkable discovery in the advancement of the technological Era. Oil aids in plethora of day to day usages like in cooking, commuting, chemical industries, Fertilisers, Raw extract, wax, laying roads, pharmaceuticals etc.

Precisely, presence of oil is ubiquitous. In spite of having various advantages, extracting oil has various environmental impacts. Firstly, oil extraction releases many poisonous gas. Hydrogen sulphide being predominantly released into the atmosphere leads to nausea and breathing difficulties if serious precautions are not installed beforehand. Extracting fields offshore and onshore can sometimes be hazardous. For instance, the explosion at the "deep water Horizon" project by the British Petroleum took the toll of the Rig workers' lives. Hence, to touch the new sources for exploration will surely be detrimental to the lives of people around the extracting field despite the universal use of oil.

In order to maintain the balance between the nature and the demand in day to day usage, science and technology must be articulated in the right way such that Petrol and diesel cars can be replaced with Elon Musk's Tesla cars. Induction stoves, Instapot and other electrically run kitchen equipment can surpass the usage of the gas pipelines for cooking. SImilarly, there are many eco friendly options available for building highways like the newly invented plasticized roads.

To sum up, Oil demands cannot be equalized without digging the earth, but we can adopt various changes in our lifestyle to be eco friendly.