Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution to these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

New advancement in technology has taken its toll on the environment. While some individuals argue that the only way out of this dilemma is to adapt a simpler life style, others believe that technology on its own can be used to eliminate the raised issue.

On the one hand, contemporary inventions have detrimental effects on human ecosystem. For example, giant machines can cut considerable number of trees in a span of one hour and turn a forest to a bare land. Guns are more sophisticated with their night vision features which makes it even harder for animals to escape being hunted. Furthermore, thanks to the new technologies, e.g., planes, drones and etc., nowhere is out of human reach. Remote landscapes which were ones considered untouched have become the new target for researchers and tourists. It seems that recent improvements have brought humankind more misery than benefit. Since there are machines which destroyed the peaceful environment, it is understandable that some people blame the technology for these disasters. People who support such theory state that nature can be saved if people return to the old way of life and let go off the technology.

On the other hand, although technology can be used for horrible purposes, it is not harmful on its own. First of all, we all have witnessed how beneficial technology can be to help the nature. For instance, remote cameras and sensors in Amazon jungles make it easier for authorities to observe and protect them from even natural disaster such as fire and react quicker. There are even firefighter robots and plane which can be sent to heated area to prevent the fire from progressing further. Secondly, social media can raise awareness on various threats which endanger our planet and encourage people to take a more environment friendly daily routine. I personally side with these people because I find their reasoning more logical and more importantly more feasible. I doubt that anyone can simply forget the convenience that accompanies new technologies and live without them.

In conclusion, although technology has caused lots of problems, we should never forget its benefits and instead of banning it altogether try to utilize it more thoughtfully.