With the development of technology children are now living in a world that is completely different to what it was 50 years ago. What problems do this cause for society and the family?

Technological advancements have revolutionized the world for young generations. Today, everything has to be done faster and better ranging from education, shopping and even socialization. This new way of living certainly has some pros and cons, however, this essay would attempt to highlight some negative effects it posses.

First and foremost, the way technical advancement hampered the health of offspring cannot be ignored. These days, children follow a sedentary lifestyle as they are dependent on computers and mobile phones for almost everything they need ranging from education to friends. As per the recent research, the maximum numbers of patients reporting obesity-related issues are teenagers. Moreover, this new trend of making online friends is not good. As virtual friends can disappear overnight and this could affect the child psychology, in some instances, can prove fatal.

Secondly, the technology has badly affected the bonding families used to share in earlier times. Though mobile phones have eased the way of communication, however, it has been observed that family members hardly do personal interaction with each other. Meeting and talking in person is necessary for nurturing emotions among members. Further, after spending almost nine hours on screens in the office, parents feel tired and unable to keep a check on a child. Hence, the child ends up showing less interest towards studies and get inclined more towards games, which is not a good sign for societal growth.

Hence, it can be concluded that technology has affected our lives badly. For the better future, it’s important that it should be used to fulfil needs rather than making it as one of the need.