With divorce rates and family breakdowns increasing globally, it is generally accepted that families today are not as close as they used to be.

Discuss the causes of this problem and offer dome possible solutions to it.

It is true that these days family ties are not as strong as it used to be and families are less closed and family members usually soffer the lack of intimacy. There are some serious reasons for this trend and government authorities and family members shold take steps to tackle this problem.

There are various reasons why people argue that families getting divorce easily and we face more family breakdowns and consequently there is no integrity among family members. Firstly, couples are less committed to each other and this scheme is apparent in daily news of love affairs and cheating. Secondly, in the past getting divorce was a taboo in each society and individuals tried to make family relationships stronger but unfortunately nowadays it becomes popular among fellows to get divorce. Finally, families spend less time with each other since they have to work all day long to make a living for their families and as a result parents are not involved in children's upbringing and children grew up under grandparent's supervision. A salient example of this is the Denmark in which government could diminish the divorce rate by enhancing the economy conditions almost 20%.

Governments and individuals should address this problem by finding tangible solutions. One solution is providing better social welfare by government authorities which will give the families the chance to work less and spend more time with family members. Not only families would be impressed by this solution, but also society would be benefited as well since fewer people will get divorce due to the financial difficulties. Furthermore, by making awareness among the residents of each society and educating children about the importance of family as well as expansion of morality and conventions, the average quality of life will increase. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that improving the economic conditions in 2008 in UAE could impact the family relationships up to 12.5%.

To conclude, although the families are more concerned with economical issues and try to provide families with best life conditions, they should strengthen the family ties and expand their relationships.