Do you agree or disagree with this statement: The rules that the whole societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

No one would argue that youth is a tremendously vital period of every individual’s life. It is a step towards either a bright future or disappointing one. Although it is a common belief among some people that regulations expected in whole societies to be pursued by young individuals are too strict, I personally believe otherwise.

First reason to elaborate this statement is the increase in crime rate among youngsters. Despite the existence of all these strict rules, nowadays the world is experiencing an exponential growth in street crimes such as dealing drugs as well as robbery which is often done by young people. This shows that not only social obligations and rules are not strict enough, they have lots of deficiencies.

Secondly, regulations which are expected to be followed in every society, emerge out of the particular demands and conditions in that society. When we realize that every societal norm and its following rules are compatible with the unique features of that community, then the concept of strict rules would become irrelevant. In my adolescence, for instance, my parents ground some harsh limitations and obligations regarding my studies and education, according to excessive growth of population in my generation which had led to shortage of the available places in governmental Universities’ admissions. Therefore, just like those rules on that period of time in my life, other expectations of parents and societies from teenagers are proportional to a particular challenge in that society.

Taken together, I subscribe to the idea that limitations expected from young people to follow are appropriate with their age and conditions in which they are living in, and will bring them prosperity in their future.