Do you think businesses should hire employees who will spend their entire lives working for the company? Explain why do you agree or disagree. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

The quality of people employed by organizations is directly proportional to the profits made. Some people argue that hiring of employees is to be done on a permanent basis, I disagree to this thought and believe that it is a not an acceptable policy to have. This essay will discuss how it leads to a substandard attitude towards work and also its impact on company’s revenue and growth along with suitable examples to support my points.

To begin with there is ample evidence indicating that firms have to replenish the workforce periodically to stay relevant. The central reason for this is that tenured workers tend to be resistant to change when a new policy is introduced which does not benefit in company’s growth as being relevant is the norm in present world. Recruiting young and new talent who are abreast with latest technological changes in the sector is a success mantra many businesses follow. To illustrate this, British Airways have offered an early and a 20% increased retirement package to staff who are closer to the retirement age to accommodate younger personnel. Therefore it is conclusively clear that in order to compete in the industry companies need to have a perfect balance of new and old employees.

In addition to this, allowing employees to work for unending time in a company leads to a laidback and rigid attitude among members of workforce towards the work. This will lead to decrease in productivity and consequently effect the revenue of an organization. For instance, if a new branch opens in a different continent, the long lasting staff could be reluctant to come out of their comfort zone and move to a new location when asked. Thus it is possible to state that the longevity of employee in an establishment will lead to a bad attitude at workplace.

To conclude, in my opinion hiring workers to last forever in a company is not advisable as it has a negative effect on revenues of a company and also could lead to a unpleasant work culture