Eating a balanced diet is the most important factor for a healthy life. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, having right food at the right time is one of the essential factors for a healthy and happy living. Nearly 40% of the people globally have been reported with heart disease even at their early 30’s. This proves that people are not living a healthy life and invite diseases at a young age. In my opinion, it is indeed important to eat a balanced diet that accelerates a prosperous living. As a famous proverb quotes “Health is wealth”, we have to give priority to our health by having a balanced diet in our day to day life.

Firstly, we have to inculcate including a balanced diet from an early stage of being in childhood. It is vital to regulate the practice right from the childhood. Two-third of the schools in the city serve unhealthy and junk food to the school students during lunch break. It doesn’t only precursors to hazardous effects like obesity, chronic diseases or physical disability but also leads to unhealthy practice from the childhood. On contrary, few eminent schools like the American School and State school of Chennai provide fresh fruit juices and a bowl of vegetable salad for their students during lunchtime. Eventually, these students are much healthier and smarter than the school students who intake foods like fried chips and ice-creams.

In the same vein, approximately 3000 people a day in the city of Mumbai are reporting issues with their bones and muscles and the source of the issue points to their obese physic. As the balanced diet correlates to the healthy life, it is a key to maintain a balanced diet along with some regular exercise. Maintaining a balanced diet along with regular exercise reduces the chances of heart diseases by 50% as shown in the recent research by International Society for Medical Sciences.

To elucidate, it is our chief responsibility to include a balanced diet by avoiding meat, junk foods, outside foods at restaurants and by adding a lot of fruits, vegetables, sprouts and nuts to our daily meal. We have to maintain our weight and not be obese by doing regular exercises along with healthy diet. It is my hope, parents should teach the importance of balanced diet to have balanced nutrients to their kids and lead a happy life.