Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Requesting private details like hobbies and marital status has become quite common these days for the employers to ask from an employee during the hiring process. While it seems to be relevant and useful for the companies to ask this information as per some people, others disagree. I support the latter view because mostly employer uses this data to determine person's productivity and eligibility for the job offered, as it sometimes impacted by their private commitment and responsibilities, which is not an ethical way to hire an employee.

To begin with, people who support that asking personal information may be beneficial to the hiring organisation argue that employer often uses this information to understand their employee's requirement and plan several events personalized to them. For instance, birthday cakes are often arranged by companies to surprise their workers and make them feel special.

On the other hand, it is believed that the sole purpose of collecting this data during the interview is that they make an estimation of person's working skills, style and productivity at the workplace by analyzing different angles such as, if a person is married, it will tough for him to work till late due to his personal life and dependencies, while when a person is single, it is expected from him or her to work not only beyond their shift hours but also on weekends.

In conclusion, despite the facts that employers misuse this information to organise some special surprises for their employees to invigorate them, making it a way to hire a candidate is not appropriate and ethical. In my opinion, this approach may adversely impact the career of numerous deserving candidates.