Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies, and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Other disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In some cases,employers request for applicant's personal information like interests, hobbies and marital status during recruitment. While a number of persons are of the opinion that such information are irrelevant,others believe they are essential. As well as offering my opinion, this essay will discuss why disregarding the request for such information is useful, but why requesting for in-depth information is ultimately beneficial.

On the hand, many feel that asking for personal information from job seekers is not needful because proficiency on the job is not connected to those information. Have there been any time where ones hobbies is needed to effectively operate an industrial equipment or do clerical jobs? One would argue not. In other words, personal information such as hobbies and marital status would not help executive job or improve employee's workout. It is therefore evident why the need to ignore such information have garnered support.

On the other hand, cases of emergency is the major reason why many support the view that detailed personal information should be collected from all prospective employee. Many establishment have had incidence of medical emergency due to collapsed of its employees during working hours. In such case, history of the staff background Information which include hobbies and interests were vital to administer first aid treatment before management got in contact with the employee's family. For instance, a senior manager in my office had a mental breakdown in year 2016, a quick search of her file for personal information helped alleviate the condition before it could degenerate to acute condition. Therefore, I support this group of persons that feel it is essential for employers to ask for personal information due to it relevancy.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why people feel personal information are not useful and why others see such information as helpful. In my opinion, requesting for additional information like hobbies, marital status and interests are completely relevant for the emergency cases of job applicants.