Essay topics: Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today competitive world, some people’s perspective of encouraging competition among children is encountered by the others on the ground of development a sense of co-operation to make them good human beings and an asset to society. As always, each coin has two faces. Both views does have its own pros and cons.

First of all, competition does prevail in the air of today’s world. None of the area has remained untouched by its effect. Right from kid’s toys up to spending last days of retirement age is affected by competition with an extreme impacts during the adulthood in companies. Children should be prepared from their childhood to cope up with the competition, which will help them easily adapted in the society. Ranking in studies necessitates them study harder, hone their skills and knowledge which ultimately help them the succeed in their career. In today’s corporate world, employees need to demonstrate themselves superior with then splendid performance to rise up in the corporate ladder. Not only employees, businesses do need to come up with far more capable and super tech products to beat the market and eat up others share of profits.

In contrast, sense of co-operations has far more upper edge than competition. Co-operations encourage team spirit, togetherness and strength to overcome all hurdles of life. A well said statement demonstrate the vitality of co-operation and team spirit as, “If you want to run faster, run alone and if you want to run longer, run together”. Indeed, competition will show you way to beat the competitor, co-operations will get you the right people who will help you reach your high goals.

To sum up, above juxtaposition of competition and co-operations shows that both are part and parcel of life. Leaving up the later will increase your opponents whereas the adopting the later has capability to turn opponents in your favor to reach you goals. In my opinion, co-operations outweighs merits of competition.