Every year several languages die out. Some people believe that it is not important as life will be easier with fewer languages.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Annually, numerous languages are disappearing worldwide. While some people claim that this issue is not of great importance due to the induced lingual uniformity, many argue to the contrary and are making efforts to prevent this phenomenon. This essay investigates the mentioned topic and ascertains why it is beneficial to help exotic languages survive.

From an international communication perspective, a smaller diversification of practiced languages will positively affect the ease of communication. Hypothetically, if in the world there was a sole language, there would be almost no misinterpretations or barriers holding interpersonal communications aback. As some instances of this, firstly, companies that share a common language are able to collaborate more efficiently and conserve time as well as resources, secondly, communities that are populated with speakers of a single language, tend to demonstrate a more integrated unity. To those ends, pupils are often taught English as the second language so that they are able to strive in the international business community.

From a cultural standpoint, it is crucial to assist frail languages with low counts of practitioners to survive our cutting edge times. Staggering volumes of poetry, literature, ancient manuscripts, as well as historical logs, are recorded in authentic languages which are on the verge of oblivion. While they might not be completely lost to mankind if the respective language has died, it certainly affects the quality of interpretations. Furthermore, assisting a language in decline will in turn aid preserving that culture from obliteration. As an example, many African countries have received international aids and assistance to keep their authentic languages from decay and made applaudable efforts towards this goal.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that it is of utmost importance to prevent the death of languages. Not only they are the basis for their respective cultures, but their historical heritage will also suffer given that the language was not to be used anymore.