Film is a less important form of art than literature and painting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people put forth the argument that film is a less valuable art form than literature and painting. Nevertheless, I completely disagree with this argument and I will elaborate on my view in this essay.

Nobody would deny that books and drawings have a much longer history than movies. Old art forms art forms are rooted in the ancient world and bring fruitful data to modern historians and anthropologists to conduct research on the customs and culture of our ancestors. However, an object’s historical value is not merely counted by the number of years it has been in existence, but also by the intrinsic value it possesses. Despite the fact that a film has a comparatively short history, it contains irreplaceable elements for us to witness how the modern technology evolves. For instance, from no sound in the olden days to surround sound effect in the modern world, movies have showcased the rapid advancement of technology over the past several decades.

From the perspective of entertainment / as far as entertainment is concerned, proponents of literature and paintings argue that they have higher value than films because the two art forms are manifestations of elegance and refined grace. Yet I believe that beauty is subjective and it depends on the tastes of individuals. While some people have a particular fondness for literature and painting due to their classic nature, others’ passion lies in watching movies which are deeply connected with the modern art form. Since modern people often follow the fashion trends of celebrities they adore and the high-end gadgets they use, going to the theatre is a highly rated entertainment and art form among people nowadays.

To conclude, I believe that films / movies have the same artistic value as literature and painting. One cannot gauge the artistic value of films merely from the number of years of history they have or some kind of subjective taste preference.