Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, whole world has become a global village. we could easily enjoy fruits and vegetables that are grown at different parts of the world. However, it is commonly believed by many that if people only ate locally produced food, it would be beneficial for the environment and economy. I completely agree with them and this essay presents the supportive statements to justify my agreement.

To begin with, this trend will improve the environment and economy in many ways. Firstly, this will generate better income to the local agronomists as the cost of middle men and transporters will be eliminated. This in turn will benefit the consumers as the goods will be available at cheaper rates. This is a win win situation for the farmers as well as consumers. In a research study conducted by Harvard University on 1500 samples of california farmer's, it was found that cream of the income is enjoyed by the middle-mens and farmers hardly get their base vaue for cultivation.

Another major reason to support locally produced fruits and vegetable is that it would be fresher. When eatable items are transferred from one place to other, it is chemically stored in order to keep it fresh and safe from beign rotten. Thus, if we consume food produced by local agriculturalist, it would improve our health as well.

To conclude, it is very common to see fruits and vegetables grown at different parts of the world. We even enjoy those food a lot without considering its drawbacks. Such food is protected from fungi and bacteria using harmful chemicals, that make it look fresh and healthy. Moreover, if we eat locally produced vegetables and fruits, it will assist local agriculturalists financially and we can enjoy more nutritious food at cheaper rate. Therefore, I completely agree with the belief that it would be better for the environment and economy if people support more the local food produced by farmers