Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Travel industry is flourishing nowadays since many people love to travel to foreign places and they travel thousands of miles for their love of travelling. Many people believe that foreigners should be charged higher than the local visitors. I, however completely disagree with this view.

Firstly, Travelling is an expensive hobby and while travelling to a new country all together one needs to make many arrangements and need to take care of numerous things such as- Visa processing, accommodation facilities, food to name a few.

All these necessities already burns a big hole on tourist’s pocket. On top of it when they are charged higher for visiting the historical buildings , it will take a toll on them which might lead to their disinterest in visiting the place again in future.

Secondly, I believe that charging extra fees from foreign visitors is unfair on ethical ground since this will make them feel discriminated and dissatisfy.

In addition to this, local residents barely give any importance to their historical heritage and they hardly visit any monument situated in their city. On the contrary, foreigners travel a great distance and spend a lot of money to make a visit.

For example- The symbol of love Taj Mahal which is situated in Agra. Local visitors hardly pay a visit to this wonderful symbolic structure even though the visiting charges are nominal for them. On the other hand there are people who travels miles just to have one look of this beautiful monument.

Furthermore, if the visitors feel discriminated they would never want to come back again subsequently it will have adverse effect on economy of the country since travel industry is one of the major contributors of in increasing the GDP of the country.

To recapitulate, foreigners make a great deal to visit another country. They put in so much of money and time to experience the heritage culture and to visit the historical buildings in person. Hence, the least the government could do is, reconsider the visiting charges for foreign visitors.