As global trade increases between different countries, many daily necessities are produced in other countries. Such goods are usually transported a long distance. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

Globalisation has enormously evolved in the 21st century that can be seen anywhere in the universe. Goods are produced in many countries and are then delivered to other countries, which poses a transportation problem for the nations. However, the advantages of transporting goods outweigh its disadvantages because transportation of necessities cannot be avoided and it helps countries and their people economically as well.

Transporting daily life necessities is crucial for individuals’ lives and it also creates jobs for many people. Food is vital for every person, thus it should be easily available for them to consume. Transportation helps in delivering foods or ingredients to nations the world over to make it accessible for every individual. The requirement of transportation also creates jobs for many, such as pilots. Therefore, transportation helps to export and import the daily necessities, and also boosts the economy of a country. For instance, China exports goods worth $5 billion every year and the GDP of the country increases 2 per cent anually.

Supplying commodities to the countries that are far away consumes a lot of fuel which causes pollution and takes a lot of time too. Food is significant for everyone and its availability at every place is significant that results in delivering such goods in every corner of the wold. Therefore, transportation consumes a lot of fuel, which involves exorbitant amount of money, and transportation mediums, such as ships and planes produce greenhouse gases which increase the trouble of global warming. To illustrate, Asian companies spend double of production cost on transportation because they deliver goods to farthest countries.

In conclusion, although transportation to farther places incur a lot of money and causes pollution, the need to deliver necessities to countries and their people should not be ignored, as essentials are crucial for the daily life of people.