As global trade increases between different countries, many daily necessities are produced in other countries. Such goods are usually transported a long distance. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks?

As a result of growing global trade among various nations, several daily essential things are being produced in other nations, and these products often travel to a long distance to reach in a local market. In my opinion, this altering business practices have both advantages and disadvantages to people as well as the nation.

To begin with the positives, the prime benefit of this international trade is that there are numerous products available in the market with a lower price for people to choose from. In other words, importing products from other countries have planted a great competition between the different vendors, and due to this competition, the single seller can not dominate the market and offer products on inappropriate rates, as usual, hence most of the necessary goods are available in a reasonable price. Furthermore, the quality of many products has increased drastically as local vendors try to attract customers by offering high standard products in order to create their customer base.

On the other hand, there are a few drawbacks to this development. Firstly, local artisans and merchandises are being vanished as a consequence of foreign trade because imported products are usually cheap and have the same quality as local ones, so, customers often choose goods, which are imported over locally-produced ones, as former is more convenient and economical. As a result, several local vendors lose their customers and end up getting their business shut. Secondly, these advancements have escalated consumerism, as easy access to low-cost products has promoted the use and throw culture among people, which in-turns have an adverse impact on the environment.

In conclusion, affordable prices and high quality, are the main advantages of transnational trade, it seems to have few untoward repercussions such as, diminishing local businesses and damaging our planet by endorsing the trend of consumerism.