The government should invest more money in teaching science than in other subjects for a country’s development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The emphasis on allocating larger budget for science and technology, as compared to other disciplines, is growing across many countries in the world. this is justifiably more productive for national growth and the world and this essay will explore how.

To begin with, no other investments can have higher returns than investment in the development of scientific knowledge. The inventions of technology bring important revenues to a nation by making novel products and services which can be sold internationally. For example, progress in space technology has seen India earn enough money be commercially launching satellites into orbits for many other countries. No wonders why, all countries who are advancing economically have been keeping aside larger funds for scientific research.

Moreover, scientific discovery is a way of finding out solutions to the most pertinent problems facing the world in the modern times which is an unparalleled feature of the discipline. Whenever humanity has come across a problem, science has a found a suitable answer. Take for example the outbreak of a deadly disease dengue. Had there been no enough commitments by the governments to sponsor reasearches into the health sector, there would be higher amounts of money spent on the directionless treatment in absence of right diagnosis and also resulting into greater risk of mortality.

On the other hand, subjects like arts, history and geography are important but they don't warrant a special budget allocation. Firstly, these disciplines place lesser demand of monetary requirements as their researches don't involve setting up physical labs with expensive devices and equipments. In fact, the arts exhibitions and music festivals, which are examples of promotional and developmental events for such disciplines, can be managed even on a low budget. Secondly, these disciplines are more related to the themes and topics that are not urgent or emergency in nature. For example, music and arts only helps to add thrills to our life and make more fun and this is the responsibility of each individual to ensure they have it in theirs.

In conclusion, governments can afford to extend their financial support more to the realm of science and innovation than to some other lesser important subjects. investment in science draws greater dividends and solves the most pressing problems of the contemporary society.