The government should spend money to encourage the development of sport and art for school students rather than supporting professional sports and art performance for the general public. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your own opinion and relevant example.

It is commonly believed that instead of allocating funds on professional sports and cultural performances for the public, the authorities should provide monetary help to educational institutions as it motivates school children to be enrolled in sports and arts. I completely agree with this notion and believe that the governments should support schools and encourage students to take sports and arts.

To begin with, the expenditure to support professional athletes and cultural artists is tremendously expensive. Although they bring honor to their nation, but only a small number of people benefit from it. To illustrate my point, supporting athlete in an international games cost an arm and leg even if the chances of getting the trophy is very slim. It would be most beneficial if authorities use their money in assisting and developing infrastructures such as gym and theater stages in educational institutions as this is a sure guarantee of fun and productive experience for all students.

Furthermore, if the regime focuses more on promoting sports and arts at schools, the majority of learners will be able to develop sportsmanship and build self-confidence that can definitely help them once they graduate and start working. It will also help a number of students who are struggling with peer pressure and not so great with these subjects will divert their attention especially that they now have a place and activities to do during their leisure time.

Oh the other hand, some people justify the enormous spending on these global international events or cultural programs as an opportunity to showcase a country and its hidden talent. For instance, the London Olympic 2012, by organizing the event in immaculate manner, Great Britain significantly improve its reputation. It was an opportunity to showcase London and what they are capable of doing. Besides this, sport and arts are excellent platforms to bring people together. They facilitate global harmony.

To recapitulate, supporting professional sports and cultural performers is very expensive and not always an assurance that they will bring pride to one’s nation. It would be best to assist the young students since they hold their country’s future success.