Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health and education and prevention

Some people perceive that some of the countries allocate too much amount on treating illnesses and diseases rather than using the budget for preventing the illness by increasing health education. I am aligned with this statement. This essay will cover the opinion of the two perspectives and will be followed by my opinion too.

To begin with, governments are more likely to give direct solution to their citizens. For instance, in my country Indonesia, they provide a set of health insurance called BPJS program for workers and it is open widely for all citizen to register. This program requires us to pay monthly in cheap and affordable amount. Therefore, if we are sick, we are eligible to take medicine in a particular hospital chosen by government for us. Besides, spending more money on treating sick people may become a shortcut to decrease the amount of diseases since we cannot neglect the inherent presence of it. For example, people tend to have either fever or cough during the extreme change of season.

On the other hand, being more focus on health education will increase knowledge and awareness to avoid illness. In fact, people perceive to stay healthy and prevent the occurrence of disease. A famous sentence from my country stated to “prepare the umbrella before the rain.” This sentence is implied to each person to eat more healthy foods, do more sports, and maintain healthy lifestyle all the time.

In my opinion, preventing illness to occur is as important as curing sick people. Healthy people need to keep healthy lifestyle, while disease should also be cured as soon as possible. Besides, safety and health awareness should be grown in each person.

To sum up, we have to avoid illness before we are sick as well as taking medicine quickly whenever illness attacks us.