The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the widespread use of e-commerce triggers will lead to the closure of shops in towns and cities in the next coming decades. However, I am partially in accord with the notion as people will be considering both options – online and offline shopping.

Apparently, the rapidly increasing of shopping online among individuals holds a wide range of constructive benefits. To commence with, online shopping is accelerating dramatically due to the availability of internet and e-commerce companies. These firms provide a better lifestyle in an unprecedented fashion. In simpler words, people can buy anything they need around the clock with the help of the internet and electronic devices like computers and mobile phones, and the product will be directly delivered to their homes on the doorstep. Moreover, this kind of shopping has given consumers to choose from a wide variety of choices. For instance, a few months ago, I purchased a mobile phone from Flipkart, and it offered me a wide variety of options for choosing the right device according to my needs and under my budget. Therefore, this kind of facility definitely forces many businesses to go online selling instead of opening physical stores in the market.

On the other hand, there will be buoyant demand for street stores or supermalls in the future. Chiefly, because a fair number of shoppers still want a more tactile shopping experience. In other words, consumers still want to touch, see, and feel before purchasing the products. Consequently, they will get a tangible experience and will prefer to buy those products instantaneously. To exemplify, still, most of the adults prefer to shop for fruits and vegetables in the market, so that they can check the quality of the products before buying them.

To conclude, although online shopping might have become dominant because of several benefits, people will still need a tangible experience to buy products like fruits, vegetables from the market just to check the freshness and quality.