The handwriting has become less formal, and it is done in a more relaxing way now than in the past. What are the causes? There are more advantages or disadvantages?

Nowadays, the handwritten style has got more informal compared with the past. In my opinion, this is happening because letters in longhand are almost replaced by electronic letters. In this essay, I will consider the pros and cons of the trend.

The main reason that handwriting has become less official is in the modern society people send official letters via email or printed ones. Thus, the public uses handwriting only for casual notes and lecture notes or for old-fashion letters. Meanwhile, our ancestors used to write an official letter on paper and send it by post, but with the appearance of technological advances, everything changed.

On the one side, switch on print in a business workflow is beneficial because it is difficult to write long texts by hand and if there were some mistakes in the text it would be difficult to fix them. Whereas, printed documents are can be effortlessly changed and improved. As well as this, printing is energy efficient and print is clearer and easier to read than a script. For many people, it is easier to write and just about as fast.

However, handwriting is one of the major skills, which has a significant impact on brain development. From my perspective, it is crucial for a child or even the elderly to write by hand as much as possible. Unfortunately, a handwritten copy is fast disappearing in the workplace, as well as many schoolchildren around the world, have been required to learn how to use a keyboard and write in print.

In conclusion, I believe that both skills are necessary and equally important. Despite the convenience of printed documents, society should not underestimate handwriting and its influence on our way of thinking.