Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

An increasing number of shopping centres sell imported food products rather than local ones. The main cause of this trend is that in this way supermarkets receive more profit in comparison with sellers of locally produced food. From my point of view, it can be considered a negative development.

It is true that behind any market decision lies the desire to make a business profitable as much as possible. Thus, importing varies foreign foods by stores is aiming to attract more clients and satisfy even the most sophisticated customers’ tastes. It is obvious that modern society is highly oriented to imported goods on the whole and exotic food in particular. For instance, I am fond of trying out new tastes, textures and smells and the most convenient way to satisfy this need is to buy unusual food. Meanwhile, local food producers tend to use time-tested technologies and are not willing to launch new product lines. As a result, citizens prefer to purchase more foreign products.

Although supermalls are pursuing a noble goal such as clients’ satisfaction, I think the switch to ‘overseas’ food has more disadvantages than mentioned above advantages. Firstly, these kinds of policies are harmful to local producers and they are not able to compete with imported goods. Even though they concentrate on the quality of product, the price of their production will probably be higher than the external one and people will turn to cheaper and more exotic ones. Thus, they will gain less income and will not be able to open up-to-date technology lines. In addition, local farmers also are not able to face the competition of imported fruits and vegetables, which are coming out of season.

In conclusion, the main reasons for sails growth of imported foods are the market’s pursuit of for-profit and the desire to fulfil customers’ testes. Despite the fact that this trend has some advantages, in the long term it has a negative impact on local farmers and food producers and it is recommended to support the local food industry and help it to attract shoppers.