The impact that growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is

a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit

the number of people traveling by air is to increase taxes on flights.

To what extent do you think this could solve the problem?

The rapid increase in air traffic has posed a strong threat to the ecosystem. Not only air travel users proliferation has exacerbated the problem of envronmental hazards, but sparked heated debates in past that hefty taxes on air flights would gradually bring down the unncessary air travelling. In my opinion, heavy taxes would barely reduce the frequency of air travellers due to no perfect substitute available for replacing the efficient air travelling in fast pace of life.

The most prominent reason in support of my view is that globalisation have turned the world into global village, which in turn, is highly interconnected for developments to take place in every sector. However, heavy taxes would deter the reliability of various sectors on each other with rise in costs of raw material due to taxes. Secondly, masses would have to shed more money for travelling by air in case of emergencies, consequently, demoralising the people united behind the real cause of environment conservation.

Apart from it, in developing countries majority of people travelling by air belong to high social status with massive disposable income. Hence such people would seldom show any reluctancy in paying taxes on flights. Furthermore, contrarily they tend to pay high cost to safeguard their business interest over long distance travels. Henceforth, idea of environment protection is defeated in this scenario.

On the other hand, low traffic in domestic or inland travels would ameliorate the situation by lesser land acquisation on large scale by government to meet the demands of air traffic by constructing domestic airports, thus people can be saved from being deprived of their fertile agriculture lands. Finally, tax collections can be parallelly used to boost the development of various public sectors with adequate fund allocation.

To sum up, I would strongly assert based on afforementioned facts that taxes impact would be minimal on limitising the air traffic, nevertheless, new challenges in return would bring negative repercussions to development of the country.