The impact that the growing demand for more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people travelling by air is to increase the tax on flights.

To what extent do you think this could solve the problem?

Aviation is considered to be responsible for the emission of greenhouse gases in large proportions. Many think that the government should increase the tax slab on air travel to discourage people and make them think twice while booking an air ticket. I think it will be of little help as dependence on this mode of transport is higher than ever.

Levying more taxes on air travel will have a little impact, as this facility is mostly used by rich people, therefore, money is not a problem for a large portion of the population who use this facility. Although, some middle-class people travel by air, as in emergency there is no faster mode of transportation. Moreover, due to globalization, the number of flights operating is increasing each year therefore high fares will have a marginal impact on this booming industry.

So, the government should invest the tax money collected from airfares in curbing pollution generated by aeroplanes. For instance, planting trees in the vicinity of the airport to absorb obnoxious gases and sound pollution.

In addition, usage of alternate less polluting jet fuels should be encouraged because the jet fuel commonly used is not very efficient and it produces a lot of residue gases.

In conclusion, it is almost impossible to cut the number of people who aeroplane for travel even if the fare is raised. Therefore, the only method to decrease environmental degradation by the aviation industry is to use the money generated by additional taxes in planting more trees and using more efficient biofuels.