An increasing number of children have become hooked on fast food and aerated drinks that do not provide much nutrition. This poor diet has led to a rise in obesity among children. What are the problems that are associated with obesity in children and what steps could be taken to prevent it?

In this contemporary era, there has been a dramatic increase in the number of overweight adolescents in the world due to processed food and a sedentary lifestyle. This essay will elaborate on the main factors contributing to plumpness and thereby elicit some feasible solutions in the upcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, the first and foremost cause of heaviness is junk food. Fast food contains a large number of additives, saturated fats, and sugars which is detrimental for health. Moreover, canned food outlets are ubiquitous everywhere and these types of foods are easily available in the school canteen. In addition, in this fast-paced life, both parents are working and they do not have time to cook hygienic food at home rather than parents often buy dinner from outside. This calorie-rich diet is making kids obese. However, these problems can be resolved by teaching children about the benefits of healthy food in life. Apart from that, the government should embark on awareness programs especially for adolescents and banning or imposing a heavy tax on fast food and fizzy drinks. Last but not least, junk food should be replaced by homemade food, fruits, milk, and juices.

The second vital cause of heavyweight is a sedentary lifestyle. It is an undeniable fact that the use of computers and T.V is increasing in adolescents and they spend most of their time in watching T.V or playing video games on electronic gadgets. This technological advancement has reduced the level of physical activity in this specific age group. This issue can be solved by encouraging kids to do physical exercise. Parents can take their children to park to encourage playing with friends. Furthermore, schools can add sports in their curriculum to maintain physical fitness in their students.

To conclude, it is clear that the main cause of overweight is unhygienic eating food and not enough physical activities. This ailment can be prevented and treated by healthy eating habits and physical exercises.