Increasing numbers of students are going to university instead of working after high school.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who do this.

A recent trend has been seen where kids have been pursuing higher education post finishing their senior secondary education rather than picking up jobs. This can certainly be helpful in the long run, but not without its own demerits.

First and the foremost, pupils who choose to study further right after completing their high school, tend to draw more focus on their studies as compared to their counterparts who chose to take a break and earn money for themselves. This assists them in fixating their concentration only on studies, which in turn proves to be fruitful where they can score high marks in their studies and graduate with flying colors. Also, sometimes the students are given projects and assignments to complete which are almost at par with certain real-life situations and this can aid them in understanding and getting ready when they join a company.

In contrast, this trend also has its own disadvantages. Knowledge gained from books and classrooms, would only be able to provide understanding and experience to the extent how something needs to be done, whereas a job can impart certain life skills to an individual which no teacher or school can teach. At the same time, while being employed, one becomes more clear about the kind of career they would wish to undertake as gaining work experience in that chosen field before initiating studies, helps a great deal in understanding whether they would be comfortable while pursuing the field or not.

Hence, a student should consider both sides before choosing the streams widely as this is the steppingstone in their career and this helps them determine whether they should process further in a field or not.